



Appeal to Azerbaijani Government for immediate protection of the human rights of Ilgar Nasibov and Malahat Nasibova

It has been brought to our attention that journalist and human rights defender Ilgar Nasibov, the husband of Rafto Human Rights Laureate 2009 Malahat Nasibova, was brutally attacked on August 21st 2014.

Several men ransacked the office of the Democracy and NGO Development Resource Center of Nakhchivan, and attacked Ilgar Nasibov. He was beaten unconscious and suffered a concussion; his cheekbones, nose and ribs were broken; and he temporarily lost the vision on one eye. After Nasibov received essential first aid at a local hospital, new threats caused Malahat Nasibova to move her husband elsewhere for security reasons. International human rights NGOs coordinated emergency medical treatment for Nasibov, but he is still in urgent need of medical expertise to secure his recovery.

In a particularly cynical twist on September 20th, Nasibov was charged with assaulting one of the men who attacked him. Due to this charge Ilgar Nasibov and his wife have received travel bans, and cannot leave Nakhchivan.

As Rafto laureates and human rights defenders we hereby declare our support to Malahat Nasibova and Ilgar Nasibov in their struggle for freedom and democracy in Azerbaijan, and call upon the Azerbaijani authorities to immediately

- > ensure that Ilgar Nasibov is given immediate access to medical expertise and unobstructed passage to seek medical attention in Baku or abroad;
- ➤ lift the travel bans on Ilgar Nasibov and his wife Malahat Nasibov;
- waive the charges against Ilgar Nasibov;
- > initiate an effective, impartial and transparent investigation of the brutal attack on Ilgar Nasibov capable of bringing those responsible to justice.

Nasibova and her family have for years been subjected to physical and psychological pressure because of their human rights work. The Resource Center is the only independent group in Nakhichevan, and is working on sensitive cases to restore justice to victims of human rights violations.



We remind the government of Azerbaijan about its international human rights obligations and call upon them to take effective measures to protect human rights defenders and allow them to conduct their human rights work without hindrance, as provided in the UN Declaration on Human Rights Defenders of 9 December 1998¹.

Yours sincerely,

Ph.D. Pavel Chikov, Russia for Agora, Rafto Laureate 2014

Lawyer and human rights activist; Head of Inter-regional Association of Human Rights Organizations Agora, Kazan, Tartarstan

Executive Director Dr. Frank Mugisha, for Sexual Minorities Uganda, Rafto Laureate 2011

Rev. Bulambo Lembelembe Josué, DR Congo Rafto Laureate 2008

Peace Ambassador and Coordinator for "Peace and Reconciliation" Program, Church of Christ in DR Congo

LL.M. Paulos Tesfagiorgis, Eritrea Rafto Laureate 2003

Senior advisor, Democracy and Constitution-making, International IDEA; Founder of Regional Centre for Human Rights and Development in Eritrea, co-founder and former Head of the Eritrean Relief Association

Shirin Ebadi, Iran Rafto Laureate 2001

Nobel Peace Prize winner 2003, founder of Defenders of Human Rights Center, Honorary Doctor of 18 international universities; recipient of the Legion of Honor of the Republic of France

Peter Molnar, Hungary Rafto Laureate 1989

Research Fellow, Center for Media and Communication Studies, Central European University in Budapest; poet; playwright; co-founder of FIDESZ and former Member of the Parliament of the Republic of Hungary

Head of International Office Travis Brimhall, for Bahrain Center for Human Rights, Rafto Laureate 2013

Fr. Raul Véra OP, Mexico, Rafto Laureate 2010

Bishop of Saltillo, founder of Fray Juan de Larios Centre for Human Rights; Honorary Doctor of the Humanities; Recipient of the Merit of Honor of Mexico City

Most Venerable Thich Quang Do, Vietnam Rafto Laureate 2006

Head of the Unified Buddhist Church of Vietnam, former Professor of Oriental Philosophy and Buddhist Studies; democracy activist

Sidi Mohamed Daddach, Western Sahara Rafto Laureate 2002

President of the Committee for the Defense of the Right to Self-determination for the People of Western Sahara CODAPSO

Professor Ph.D. Ian F. Hancock, USA Rafto Laureate 1997

State Commissioner, The Texas Holocaust and Genocide Commission; Director of Romani Archives and Documentation Centre, Honorary Vice-Chancellor, Roma Sabhyati University in Delhi

Trivimi Velliste, Estonia, Rafto Laureate 1988

President of the Baltic Assembly; Member of Estonian Parliament; former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Representative of Estonia to the UN

http://daccess-dds-ny.un.org/doc/UNDOC/GEN/N99/770/89/PDF/N9977089.pdf?OpenElement

¹ Article 12 of the Declaration

Copies of this letter are sent to:

President of Azerbaijan Mr. Ilham Aliyev

Office of the Prosecutor General of Azerbaijan

Republic of Azerbaijan Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Department in the Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic

Minister of Internal Affairs for the Republic of Azerbaijan Mr Ramil Usubov

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Mr. Rafael Ibrahimov accredited to the Finland and Norway

Representative at UN office in Geneva and other international organizations

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Permanent representative Mr. Akram Zeynalli

Norwegian Minister of Foreign Affairs Børge Brende

Norwegian Minister of Trade and Industry Monica Mæland

Norwegian Minister of Petroleum and Energy Tord Lien,

Political Adviser to Norwegian Minister of Trade and Fisheries Morten Storebø

Norwegian Ministry of Trade and Fisheries Director for corporate social responsibility Anne Kristin Sydnes

Ministry of Petroleum and Energy Deputy Ownership Section Director General Johan Alstad

Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs Senior Adviser

Norwegian Embassador to Azerbaijan Bård Ivar Svendsen

Statoil

OSCE Chairman Didier Burkhalter

OSCE Project Co-ordinator in Baku Alexis Chahtahtinsky

OSCE Project Co-ordinator in Baku Rashad Huseynov

OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights Thomas Rymer

OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media, Dunja Mijatović

Principal Adviser to the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media Roland Bless

Office of the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media Gunnar Vrang

EU Special Representative for the South Caucasus Herbert Salber

Political advisor to EU Special Representative for the South Caucasus Bjoern Kuehne EU Special Representative for Human Rights Stavros Lambrinidis

Political advisor to EU Special Representative for Human Rights Mychelle Rieu

Political advisor to EU Special Representative for Human Rights Caroline Stein

Personal Assistant to EU Special Representative for Human Rights Souad Azghoud EU Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy Head of Cabinet Bernard Brunet EU High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

Vice-President of the Commission Head of Cabinet James Morrison

MEP Heidi Hautala

MEP Iris Hoffmann

MEP Kateřina Konecna

MEP Amtanas Guoga

MEP Sajjad Karim

Secretariat of the Committee of Ministers

Head of Council of Europe Office in Baku Head of Office

Secretariat of the European Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhumane or Degrading Treatment or Punishment

Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights

Council of Europe Member of the House of Representatives Peter Omtzigt

UNDP Nordic Office Trygve Olfarnes

UNDP Oslo Governance Centre Program Specialist Eirik Talleraas

United Nations Development Programme in Azerbaijan

Committee to Protect Journalists

International PEN Writers in Prison Committee

Article 19

Reporters Without Borders

Frontline Defenders Human Rights Watch Amnesty International Human Rights House Network Norwegian Helsinki Committee People in Need Foundation

Media